Speed

Speed William S Burroughs Jr s st book about the subculture of amphetamine use

  • Title: Speed
  • Author: William S. Burroughs Jr.
  • ISBN: 9780879511
  • Page: 251
  • Format: Hardcover
  • William S Burroughs Jr s 1st book about the subculture of amphetamine use.

    • Speed by William S. Burroughs Jr.
      251 William S. Burroughs Jr.
    • thumbnail Title: Speed by William S. Burroughs Jr.
      Posted by:William S. Burroughs Jr.
      Published :2019-06-11T09:01:26+00:00

    About "William S. Burroughs Jr."

    1. William S. Burroughs Jr.

      William S Burroughs III, a.k.a William S Burroughs Jr or Billy Burroughs, was the son of author William S Burroughs and Joan Vollmer.

    711 thoughts on “Speed”

    1. OK, okay. rarely do the great writers bear children that can muster their handle at the typer. Yes, you have your Amis boys, Dan Fante is making some moves, etc and maybe maybe William Burroughs, Jr. died leaving just enough behind that we might not discredit it--and, no, he is not his father, but indeed is his father's son (AND his mother's, whom before Bill Sr. put a bullet in her head was shooting the benz out of the old script inhalers WHILE she was pregnant with Bill Jr.--check John Steinbe [...]


    2. With the circumstances of his life William Burroughs Jr was 'cursed from birth' and in his first book he details a period in his life. Speed is his drugs and the book has all the emotional emptiness that the drugs brings you. It's a just bit of pulp and Allen Ginsberg's introduction is patriarchal rather than helpful or even with interest. To conservatives 'Speed' is what all the beats were like: empty headed junkies with more dirt than brains. In reality it's almost a parody of beat life. Skid [...]



    3. This is a drug memoir by the son of the legendary William S Burroughs. Burroughs Jr reminds me quite a bit of Dan Fante, himself the son of a famous writer (John Fante). Both sons are wayward and both end up in New York and off their face. Burroughs Jr had an awful life, which is chronicled in the biography Cursed from Birth, and having read this it's easy to see why he died at the age of 34. This isn't bad, but not quite up to the standard of Dan Fante or Charles Bukowski.


    4. John Steinbeck He’s Afterword is a tear jerker. Billy was a victim of the Beat movement, not a product. Recommend this book for fans of Burroughs, Kerouac, Ginsberg, etc.


    5. William Jr. has his dad's eye for bizarre detail in this Kerouac-y, gritty, stream-of-consciousness account of speed freak life in the time of the hippies.


    6. Shiver me timbers!I got the shudders after reading this book! Before picking this novel up I was mildly familiar with William S. Burroughs, Jr. but I really only wanted to read it because it was on Buzzfeed's 20 Junkiest Books about Drugs list. And boy oh boy was it junky!Obviously this book is not for the faint of heart. It is nothing but drugs, drugs, drugs. It is told in the stream of consciousness style that beatnik authors and poets were so fond of and explores a summer spent in New York, b [...]


    7. I, probably like most people who've read this bk, read it b/c it was written by William S. Burroughs' son about drugs & their use & culture, etc. Like father, like son? I remember thinking it was fairly well written. Perhaps he cd've gone on to write many bks. But he didn't, only one more. What did he die of? Liver failure or some such, perhaps - a failure probably related to speed use. What kind of a person names their child after themselves? IMO, an asshole. That's like dooming yr chil [...]







    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *